Raw beetroot frozen delight

Raw desserts are one of my favourite things in life…one of a very large list of favourite things, but it’s on there, somewhere after my brother and sister and before devouring a pound of fresh blueberries on a sunny Vancouver summers day.

Raw desserts are probably my favourite thing to create in the kitchen because like baking, you get a sweet delectable treat to enjoy but unlike baking, there is no exact science to it..infact, it’s quite the opposite. Crazy, mad science. When I am making a raw dessert I am like a mad scientist and you should probably steer clear of the kitchen because I will have taken over every inch of counter space, I will have used every available spoon and I will probably (accidentally) knock you out of the way or smack you with the spatula; there will be stray cashews strewn on the floor, coconut oil in my hair a smile on my face and billows of cinnamon filling the air.

And the result, after all of this, is a really big mess (that i’ll be hoping Ali will clean up) and an amazing dessert that will put a smile on your face, excite your taste buds and nourish your whole body.

Today I wanted to make something great. I had no idea what but I knew it was going to be good. I had some beetroots that needed to be used so I began by shredding those in the blender and decided I was going to make walnut beet mince to go over pasta. However sometime during the blending process I suddenly had a vision of sweet, silky beetroot mouse…so I ditched the walnuts and instead ended up adding to the blended beets, (about 11/2cups) an array of ingredients including, (these measurements are all estimates as I was definitely NOT in a measuring state of mind), the following:

-coconut oil, couple of heaped tablespoons
-banana, 1 small
-avocado, 1 small
-coconut cream, 1 heaped tablespoon
-lemon juice, good squirt
-vanilla extract, few drops
-coconut sugar, tablespoon or so
- honey, until it tastes sweet enough for your taste buds!
- cashews, handful (better if they are soaked)
-chia seeds, good sprinkle

I just kept adding, tasting, adding, tasting until it was was the most beautiful shade of pink you’ve ever seen and tasted like heaven.

20130526-081144.jpg
At which point I blended up a quick crust of:
-dates
-oatmeal
-coconut flakes
-walnuts
-coconut oil
-a couple more tablespoons of beets to keep with the pink theme

20130526-081244.jpg
I pressed the crust into my cake pan, poured the pink beet mouse on top and placed it in the freezer to set so it was firm but not totally frozen.

20130526-081401.jpg

20130526-081514.jpg
The coconut whipped cream really finished it off beautifully and I would highly recommend it. To make coconut whipped cream you simply put a can of coconut milk in the fridge, or of your house is freezing like our is, you don’t even have to bother with that step. The cold makes the coconut cream separate from the coconut water and when you open the can the thick creamy bit will be on the top. Spoon that into your blender with sweetener of your choice, I used coconut sugar. And whatever else you like. I added some vanilla and lemon juice.

20130526-081832.jpg
The sprinkle of cinnamon and coconut flakes were not only pretty but added to the whole amazing taste experience.

This dessert will not only satisfy your sweet tooth but it will also serve your body in an amazing way…here are some of the health benefits of beetroot:
It contains a host of nutritional compounds like magnesium, phosphorus, sodium, potassium and calcium as well as small amounts of copper, selenium, zinc, iron and manganese, reduces blood pressure levels, aids blood flow to the brain and halts age-related ailments like dementia, amazing antioxidant and helps prevent the formation of cancerous tumors, detoxifies the liver and also cures diseases of the digestive system, widens blood vessels and reduces the amount of oxygen needed by muscles during physical activity, very good source of folic acid and lowers bad cholesterol level.

What’s not to love…it’s pink, delicious and good for every inch of your body!

On another note, I realise I haven’t been posting much at all and I also realised the other day that I’ve been writing the blog for over a year!! My life is so much different then it was a year ago on a lot of levels.
Then I was nannying four days a week and partying the other three days. I had lots of time most evenings after work to cook and then blog about it and lots of time on the weekends when I was too hungover to do anything but write about food.
Now i’m studying design four days a week in Newtown, so between the commute, the hours at school and homework I just don’t have the time to blog.
Also, i’ve slowly but surely grown out of my partying ways and am so much more in love with my life because of it. Where weekends were once about getting drunk sometimes thursday, definitely Friday, most likely Saturday and often Sunday; waking up with regrets, a pounding head, exhausted liver and rotting stomach. Days would be a struggle to get through and would usually consist of eating a bunch of random food to try and fill the empty feeling that the booze left in my stomach, laying on the beach (if the hangover wasn’t TOO bad), napping and then doing it all over again, and only feeling better when the first drink hit my blood stream.
Don’t get me wrong, it was fun, and I don’t regret it.
But I’m happier now. I’m happy to have quiet nights, drinking tea and (eating liver detoxifying beetroot cake), and then filling my weekend days with fulfilling activities, doing artwork, running, surfing, tennis, cooking (but being too busy to blog about it) gardening, feeling alive, feeling healthy, waking up with a clear mind and a happy liver and tummy that craves a green smoothie, not a greasy fry up and ibuprofen.
So, that’s why I haven’t been posting as much. I do however post all my food pics on my instagram henrileee (that’s three e’s) so feel free to follow me for daily pictures of healthy cruelty fee delights!!!

20130526-090739.jpg
I hope your day is beautiful!!

4 responses

    • This is the first time I’ve gotten around to trying it and I’ll be doing it all the time now!! So easy and yummy and a million times better for you then cows cream. It would be so good on one of your blueberry pies :)

Leave a Reply

