Hey there! Welcome to our blog!

We are two vegetarian sisters and roomies living in Sydney Australia. We eat mostly gluten-free as well as avoiding sugar, processed food and dairy ( for the most part).

We like to cook, and we LOVE to eat and we are damn sick of answering the question “What do you EAT then?”. ‘How ignorant are you??’, is the answer I think in my head before I come up with the boring (and more polite), “oh, lots of different things…”. Which is then usually countered with, “Well how do you get your PROTEIN??” or sometimes, “Well I was a vegetarian once and I became so anemic I had to eat meat again”. At which point I usually roll my eyes because I am too frustrated to carry on this conversation that will most likely go nowhere, which is a shame, because maybe if I tried to explain to you that as meat certainly is a source of protein, there are actually many plant/grain based substitutes that don’t contain any of the saturated fats or cholesterol that meat contain but do in fact contain many fun nutrients including our good friend fibre (thumbs up!!); And as far as the anemia thing is concerned, we’ve been giving blood for years and have always had very strong levels of iron, which goes to show if you eat a thoughtful well-balanced vegetarian diet, there’s no reason you should be any more anemic then a fellow meat-eater; so maybe, if I explained these things, you would listen, and consider, and not have to ask this question the next time you meet a vegetarian!! Oh and in case you were actually interested in the various forms of lettuce we eat, because you know, that’s what we eat 😉 …you can check out our blog.

Thanks for reading!

Sarah & Ali

Leave a Reply

