Day one juice madness

Started the morning with a fresh citrus juice…

20120620-103933.jpg …with two oranges, about five big spinach leaves and three carrots. This made three cups of refreshing juice and a lot of beautiful left over pulp. I used my banana carrot cake recipe and added three cups of the pulp instead of the carrot and made it in muffin tins.

20120620-104320.jpg This made a dozen sweet, moist, fibre filled muffins that did not last long!

After all that muffin making I was thirsty again so I made a more green based juice this time…

20120620-104552.jpg …with one large cucumber, three celery stalks, a pear and a head of lettuce.

And obviously I couldn’t bring myself to toss the pulp, so I made…

20120620-104802.jpg…pulp hummus!!! With about two cups of pulp, two tablespoons of tahini, two crushed garlic, 3 tablespoons of olive oil, salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika and a bit of the actual juice to thin it down a bit!! Planning on having this for lunch with a bunch of fresh crispy vegetables.

It’s only been one day…but I think I’m in love.

Leave a Reply

