I love NUTS!! Raw cinnamon rolls

Raw desserts are my new favourite discovery,made with a variety of nuts, seeds and dried fruits, they are both nutritious, decadent, delicious and compassionate (ie. no animal parts used in the making). Most are made with a blender and chilled in the fridge before enjoying.

My first ever raw dessert experience was the cashew cheese cake which was a major success. Since then I’ve ventured into a couple different raw brownies and raw chocolate and this morning I ventured into raw cinnamon buns!!!!

Cinnamon buns are very reminiscent of childhood for us; our mum used to whip up the most amazing buns most weekends. They were always best straight out of the oven, all gooey and crispy with flakey but dense pastry that melted in your mouth… Oh the wonders of white flour, butter and sugar. So seductive but so evil, spiking our blood sugar, acidifying our pH balance and making us fat. Well I do cherish those memories of freshly baked goods (that were balanced with a varied and healthy diet, thanks mum!) There is very little part of me that wants those sorts of things anymore, because I have discovered something better in so many ways! The world of raw desserts…google image search raw dessert and you’ll see what I mean!

Back to the cinnamon buns…
Now obviously these don’t taste that much like tradition cinnamon buns, but there is some familiarity there and they are scrumptious in their own way so it doesn’t really matter!! You are definitely getting your quota of healthy, beneficial fats and protein in these bad boys as they are choka block FULL of nuts, all kinds of nuts too…we don’t discriminate.

Here’s what you do:

1 cup almond meal and 1/4 cup hazelnut meal (or all almond if that’s easier)
1 1/4 cup ground flax
1 TBS cinnamon
1/4 cup quinoa flakes
Himalayan rock salt

Mix above ingredients in a bowl and set aside, this will form the dough later for the outside of the buns.

1 cup soft pitted dates (I had the cheap hard ones so just soaked them for a bit to soften)
1/4 water
1 tsp vanilla

In a food processor, combine above ingredients to form a paste

Remove half of the paste and add it to the dry ingredients you had set aside.
Also add to the dry mixture:

1/4 melted coconut oil
1/4 cup raw agave or raw honey or mixture of both

Combine with your hands to form a ball of dough

20120805-084545.jpg

Spread on parchment with a rolling pin till about 1/4 inch thick. You’ll need parchment on both sides as its sticky dough.

20120805-084702.jpg

To the remaining date paste left in the processor add:

1/8 cup raisins (or more if you really dig raisins)
1/8 cup walnuts or pecans
1 TBS cinnamon

And process again lightly, you want it a bit chunky.

Spread paste on dough, top with extra nuts just for good measure!!

20120805-085058.jpg

Roll it up carefully and tightly, use the parchment paper to help you roll it up

20120805-085145.jpg

20120805-085151.jpg

Chill in the fridge for a bit just to set.

20120805-085404.jpg

Slice it up and enjoy. I had one cold out of the fridge and one warmed in the oven. Both were really good, I think the warm one took gold.

20120805-085514.jpg

My oh my I almost forgot to mention the icing!!! Guess what it’s made of?!?! Yep, more nuts!! I could literally eat this stuff by the spoonful, which is pretty much what I was doing….

In a food processor combine until smooth:

1 cup soaked cashews (I had mine soaking while I was making the buns)
1 TBS coconut oil
Juice from 1/2 a lemon
Dash of cinnamon
1 TBS toasted coconut (I had this leftover from the creamy coconut rice I made the night before, not essential but recommended for sure!)
Dash of stevia or other sweetener
About 1/8 cup water to thin

20120805-090049.jpg

This icing really finishes them off!! I added extra because it was just so good…

20120805-090139.jpg

Yum. It’s a good thing I don’t have a nut allergy that’s all I can say!!

I made these early in the am while I was sipping my chai tea. I had a master plan to make the buns then chill them while I was making my green juice, drink said juice, mow said bun. Then this happened…

20120805-091335.jpg

The freaking glass exploded while i was securing aluminium foil on it!!!! All because Ali was still asleep so I was going to keep it in the fridge for her… What kind of messed up karma is that?! There was juice everywhere, it was a nightmare. I’m just so glad I had my cinnamon buns to make everything all better!

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Ooey gooey cinnamon buns | what do you eat then!?

  2. I originally found this site through a google search for recipes with dates and coconut oil. I make the raw granola bars on a weekly basis. I have tried many variations and they always turn out wonderfully. I made the raw cinnamon rolls for the first time yesterday and they are incredible. I made my husband try them (because I wanted him to join in my new found happiness!) He thought they were good, but was not quite convinced they should be called cinnamon roll. I think they are as close to cinnamon rolls as you will get without flour, butter, and processed sugar. Thanks for providing such delicious whole food recipes.

    • Hi Jamie!
      Thank you so much for your feedback! I have slowed down a lot on posting because I have been really busy with school but I’m so glad you are finding the recipes helpful and I will continue posting, slowly but surely!!
      You’ve totally just reminded me that I must make those granola bars again!! I agree with your husband, they are VERY different from your traditional cinnamon roll but so good that they deserve a special name of their own I reckon!!
      Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

