Eggplant convert

20121002-200926.jpg

I thought I didn’t like eggplant, which was an issue, I hate not liking foods (olives, brussel sprouts and asparagus are all examples of foods I used to dislike, until I force-fed them to myself enough times, and now thoroughly enjoy).
Two of my friends were raving about the joys of the eggplant the other night and it annoyed me I couldn’t share their love of this humble purple vegetable, instead, visions of choking on tough skin and flavourless slimy flesh came to mind. Alas, the other day whilst grocery shopping I spotted a shiny well shaped eggplant and decided it was time. Time to force eggplant into my mouth.
And guess who’s eggplants newest biggest fan?!?
Me!!!!!
And I didn’t even have to force it down; it was a delightfully pleasant mowing session, no tough skin or slimy-ness anywhere to be seen.
On the suggestion of my lovely friend and fellow veggie; I stuffed the eggplants and then baked them in a dish of salted water. Such a success, thank you Georgia!!

20121002-202304.jpg

20121002-202316.jpg

20121002-202324.jpg

Recipe:

Cut your eggplant in half and scoop out the flesh. Chop up the flesh and set aside in a bowl with salt.

1 zuchini
1 carrot
1/2 red capsicum
1/2 purple onion
1 tomato
1/4 cup sliced olives
3 small mushrooms
2 Spring onions
The chopped salted eggplant flesh

Chop all veggies nice and small

1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
1 TBS Dijon mustard
2 TBS nutritional yeast
Decent amount of paprika, cumin, pepper (or whatever spices you dig)
2 garlic cloves minced

Combine all ingredients and spoon into eggplants. I sprinkled vegan Parmesan ontop. Place eggplant in a dish and fill with salted water (about half way up the eggplant…don’t drown them!) bake for about an hour at 200.

Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic reduction and enjoy!!

(makes enough to stuff probably 3 medium eggplants)

20121002-203519.jpg

Two cheers for eggplant!!!

Leave a Reply

