A really good rice dish.

20121108-190255.jpg
We went out for my birthday dinner last night to my favourite pizza place that does the BEST vegan and gluten free pizzas I’ve ever had!!

20121108-190406.jpg
Me and Ali did sharesies as usual ๐Ÿ™‚ and we also drank quuuuuite a bit of wine, as usual…we ended up staying out way past our bedtime and both struggled through work today.
We were (and still are, going to crash after this) exhausted and i’m surprised I managed to create this masterpiece in my cranky, delirious state. I even had this ingenious idea to grate the tofu so it looked like shredded cheese ๐Ÿ˜€ It was super tasty and I can’t wait to prepare it again like that for tacos, pizza etc!
I whisked up a delicious sauce and stirred it through the rice once it was done cooking that was just perfect.
Unfortunately and typically, I didn’t keep track of the measurements of things but I’ll try my best…and with things like this it really doesn’t matter anyways.

Here’s the deal:

For the tofu “cheese” topping:

Firm tofu grated, it was about two cups
3 garlic cloves minced
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 tsp mustard powder
1 TBS flax meal
1 green onion chopped
Tumeric, paprika, salt, pepper

Mix all ingredients until well combined. I add green capsicum and diced carrots at this point and then lightly cooked it in a wok with a bit of coconut oil.

And for the rice:

2 cups cooked brown and black rice

1 TBS light miso
2 TBS sesame oil
1-3 TBS Tamari (soy) sauce
2 tsp honey

Whisk into a creamy sauce and stir through rice. I also stirred through chopped kale an baby spinach.

One response

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin tacos with walnut ‘ground round’ and tofu ‘cheese’ | what do you eat then!?

Leave a Reply

