Almond crusted tofu and vegan chocolate cake

20121128-102601.jpg
We usually have a nice salad for dinner on ballet nights and last night was no exception. It turned out to be one of the best salads yet as well!! Hands down the best tofu I’ve had and the dressing was amazing.

The cake inspiration came from baking a cake with the little girl I nanny earlier in the day. It was a boxed cake with refined sugar, flour and dairy etc so needless to say I didn’t have any but it smelt pretty damn good and I was proud of myself for not even having a taste, so I decided I would have to make a ‘healthy’ vegan cake that I could enjoy after ballet.

First, the salad…

20121128-103214.jpg
The salad itself was made up of: lettuce, tomatoes, green onion, purple cabbage, grilled eggplant, zucchini and mushrooms. The veg combo was really good but the star of the show definitely went to the tofu closely followed by the dressing so here’s the breakdown…

Almond crusted tofu:

Drain as much moisture out of your firm tofu as possible and slice it into triangles.

In a shallow dish, mix up a marinade of:

3 TBS soy sauce
Juice of half a lemon
2 tsp rice wine vinegar
1 TBS sesame oil
1 minced garlic clove
Paprika, ginger and pepper

Place the tofu in marinade, covering all the sides. Leave in the fridge for as long as possible. (I put it in before work so it had a good 9 hours!)

For the almond crust:

3 TBS flax meal
2 TBS nutritional yeast
3 TBS finely chopped almonds
Himalayan rock salt and pepper

Flip the tofu around in the marinade to get all the sides wet. Press all sides in the almond crust mix and place on a lined baking tray.

We cooked ours under the griller in our oven for about seven minutes each side.

20121128-104408.jpg

Seriously. So. Good.

For the Tahini Miso dressing:

2 TBS Tahini
1/2 TBS Miso
Pinch of Garlic powder
1 TBS Nutritional yeast
2 tsp Ginger
Almond milk as much as you need for a good consistency
Paprika
Honey (optional if you like slightly sweeter dressing)

Whisk till smooth adding milk as you go to thin.

20121128-104722.jpg
Yuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmm

Alright, so the dinner was really really good and I highly recommend you try the tofu and dressing for yourself!!

After dinner I quickly made the chocolate cake as I wanted it to be done before we left for ballet so it would be cooled and ready to be frosted and mowed when we got home.

When I started baking it I thought it wasn’t going to work because the top was kind of burning and the middle wasn’t really cooking. I put some tinfoil on it and cooked it as much as I could before I thought the top was looking too burnt and left it to cool.

When we got home, after biking through a bit of a monsoon, I really wasn’t expecting it to be very good. I was wrong. It was moist, rich and delicious.

Once again I got my inspiration fromthe This Rawsome vegan lifeblog

This makes one quite small cake. If I was making it for a big group, I would double it and make a stacked cake.

Vegan chocolate cake:

Combine and set aside:

1 cup almond milk
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
Just under 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
Just under 3/4 cup raw sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp almond extract

Combine and add to above mixture:

3/4 cup mix of brown rice and amaranth flour
3/4 cup cocoa
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon

Optional:

Tablespoon or so of maple syrup (if you want it sweeter)
Tablespoon of instant coffee granules (if you dig mocha flavoured things)
1/4 tsp cayenne (If you like your chocolate with kick)

Ours was with all of the above and it was amazing. I think I will try sans cayenne next time because we were borderline about whether it added to or hindered to the flavour.

Bake at 180 for about 30-50 minutes, covered, checking often. Let cool Completely before frosting.

Frosting:

This frosting is so good, it could be a desert all on it’s own!

1/4 cup silken tofu
1/2 cup cashew butter
1/3 cup cacao
2 TBS honey
1 fig (or just add extra honey)
11/2 tsp vanilla
1 TBS instant coffee granules

Blend until creamy and smooth over the cooled cake!!!! You will probably have extra. I ate my extra by the spoonful the next day!!! Hey, it’s the healthiest and tastiest frosting you will ever encounter, it deserves to be eaten by the spoonful!

Let them eat (vegan gluten free) cake!!

Leave a Reply

