Polenta pizza bites

20130202-192821.jpg
I can’t remember the last time I ate polenta…I can’t even say for sure that I have ever eaten it. Ali says we have though so I guess I’ll take her word for it.
I randomly had some in the pantry and have been seeing lots of different recipes using polenta on Pinterest so I decided I may as well give it a whirl…and it was a great success!!!

Polenta pizza bites:

1 cup uncooked polenta
4 cups water (check package as apparently some have different water requirements)
Oregano or Italian mixed spice, paprika, salt, pepper, oil

Bring the water to a boil. Add the polenta and a generous amount of spices and a dash of oil. Whisk on low heat until thick and hard to stir.
Transfer to a 9 by 9 pan lined with parchment or tin foil and spread evenly. Allow to set in the fridge for about half an hour. Slice and bake for ten minutes. Flip and bake another ten minutes. I wanted them super crispy on the outside so I then placed them under the griller on high until nice and toasty.

20130202-193938.jpg
Once they are crispy, add your toppings and place back under the griller until the toppings are cooked. We burnt ours just a bit and it added extra flavour.
We had two different variations; one a roasted garlic and green onion spread, and the other a pizza sauce with vegan cheese that turned out tasting and feeling just like ricotta after being grilled!! I wish I could recall the recipe but it was one of those taste and add as you go mad experiments…

20130202-194623.jpg
The base of it was blended silken tofu and then I added the usual suspects; nutritional yeast, miso paste, Dijon, Himalayan rock salt, some cashews, paprika. I also added some chilli sauce and a few roasted garlics and some lime juice.

20130202-200128.jpg
So easy and yummy, we will definitely be eating this again!!! Polenta is also high in protein, vitamins and minerals and is gluten free and a complex carbohydrate.

Makes about 14 pizza bites.

Leave a Reply

