Cashew cream ETC!!

There has been a slight lack of interesting food happening here since I started my design course at Tafe two weeks ago…and even the interesting things I’ve been too busy/exhausted to do anything about.
Hopefully when I get more into the swing of things I’ll be able to get back into a more frequent cooking and sharing of said cooking, routine.
For now, here are a few pictures taken in the last couple weeks that I have neglected to share that will hopefully serve as some inspiration to cook up some healthy, scrumptious and cruelty free food!

20130216-205016.jpg

20130216-205622.jpg
These bad boys were surprisingly good!! I had the flat kale which I don’t usually get. I was worried the leaves were going to be hard to chew and a bit sour but they were so tasty and tender!! I just lightly steamed them and then filled the rolls with some rice, grilled tempeh, black bean salsa, cashew cream and some alfalfa and rolled ’em up!

20130216-210132.jpg
Tasting plate with a few random things including kale chips which I have just discovered are so easy to make and amazingly tasty!! The trick is to make sure you dry the leaves really well after rinsing them so that they get crispy in the oven and not steamed. Once I have fully dried my bite size pieces of kale I massage a bit of sesame oil into the leaves and sprinkle with nutritional yeast, Himalayan rock salt and sesame seeds and then just bake for about ten minutes!!

20130216-210513.jpg
A nice fresh salad with lettuce, rocket, cuc, orange, avo, baby tomats, toasted almonds, hazelnut oil, lime juice and kamut cous cous. This is pretty weird but I have never cooked cous cous before…not that you can really call it cooking because you just pour hot water over it for a few minutes and then just like that it is ready to go in all its fluffy glory!!! Mind blown.

20130216-210929.jpg
I’ve been obsessed with cashew cheese/ cashew cream lately. Here we are having it on rice crackers with our mum’s delish home made red pepper jelly.
It’s such an amazing alternative and one of the biggest reasons why I feel like I haven’t missed cheese a la cow since I stopped eating it.
I never measure when I’m making mine. I just chuck stuff in the food processor and it always come out a different consistency and flavour which keeps it interesting!

Here is a basic recipe:

1 cup cashew nuts soaked
3 tbs nutritional/savoury yeast
1 clove of garlic, minced
juice & zest of 1 lemon juice
Himalayan sea salt to taste

Blend until smooth. It will be a sort of feta consistency. Add water if you want a thinner cream like situation.

Other ingredients I sometimes add are: tumeric, paprika, miso paste, parsley, basil, green onion, Dijon mustard.

Enjoy your cashew cream on crackers, in sandwiches, crumbled over pasta, on pizza etc!! Also you can make a sweet version by adding the cashews, cinnamon and some natural sweetener and have it as you would whipping cream.

I’ll leave now with a shout out to all the sweet, intelligent, adorable piggies out there ❤ and a promise that I will be posting a fricken legit pizza recipe in the next few days!

20130216-214711.jpg
“Scientists consider the humble pig to be one of the most intelligent species on the planet — believed to have the intelligence of a 3-year-old child. Yet, this is not reflected in the abysmal way in which pigs are kept in factory farms.

Despite advances overseas, in Australia, a pregnant pig can still be confined in a ‘sow crate’—a barren metal cage little bigger than her own body. She can barely move and is unable to turn around. Trapped in a cycle of suffering, she is forced to give birth on a hard concrete or metal floor; denied the ability to properly nurture her young; and will be continually impregnated until her body can no longer physically cope.”

-http://www.animalsaustralia.org/radio/old-macdonald/factory-farming.php

One response

  1. I had an “aha” moment when reading this. you have to DRY your kale leaves before baking them…brilliant! They’ve always tasted good but have lacked the whole chip vibe. going to try that tonight 🙂

Leave a Reply

