Dad’s favourite banana bread

20130715-161038.jpg
It’s been waaaaaaaaaaaay too long. I’ve just been super busy and not cooking anything that interesting…still yummy and healthy mind you, just nothing quite ‘blogable’.

Last night I came down with some sort of flu that I picked up from a little girl I was babysitting. I accidentally drank from a glass that she had licked and breathed into, so kind of my fault, but still really annoying.

All I could stomach all day was tea and fruit and I had a mad craving for banana bread so I crawled out of bed to quickly make this. Crawled back in while it was baking, and then out again to eat it!!

My Dad has coined this ‘the best banana bread ever’. He gets pretty excited about it when I make it when I’m at home in Van, and you have to get in quick if you want a peice! It’s super rustic, hearty, and just the perfect amount of sweetness. I added walnuts and cacao nibs. Pear chunks are good too!

Gluten free/Dairyfee/eggfree/sugarfree

Recipe:

Dry:

1 1/3 cups oats, slightly ground up
1/3 cup brown rice flour
1 TBS baking soda
Cinnamon
2 TBS flax meal

Wet:

1/4 cup coconut oil melted or veg oil
3 bananas mashed
Vanilla to taste
3/4 cup sweetener (brown rice syrup, honey, maple syrup, agave) I did mostly honey with some maple syrup
4 tablespoons rice milk or water

Mix the flax with the 4 tablespoons of rice milk and set aside. This will be the binding agent.

Mash the bananas and add the rest of the wet ingredients and stir.

In another bowl, mix the dry ingredients.

Once the flax has formed a sort of gel,mix everything together and add extras of your choice. I added chia seeds, walnuts and cacao nibs!!

Bake for about 1 hour at 180 degrees in a greased loaf tin.

Enjoy!

20130715-162724.jpg

Leave a Reply

